Kristen Bantin's Blog

The most persuasive video I have ever seen October 18, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — kbantin @ 10:49 pm

According to Think: Public Relations, persuasion is “an activity or process in which a communicator attempts to induce a change in the belief, attitude, or behavior of another person or group of persons through the transmission of a message in a context in which the persuadee has some degree of free choice.”

This video is the most persuasive video I have ever watched. My mom showed me this last year and it has always remained in my head when I go to pick up the phone and read or respond to a text when I am driving. The UK played this as a commercial on television. The United States would not allow it. I think the United States should allow it, because it would have an impact on everyone’s life. Yes, it is very graphic, and very detailed but it is EXACTLY what happens when people decide to text and drive.

I think if more people saw this video, they would stop texting and driving. Yes, it is now illegal to text and drive, but people break the law everyday. This video would just make more aware why texting and driving is so dangerous.

Persuasion, according to our book Think: Public Relations says that persuasion is used to (1) change or neutralize hostile opinions, (2) crystallize latent opinions and positive attitudes, and (3) maintain favorable opinions.

While I do not think this is the most positive form of persuasion, I think it does the job for most people. It gets their attention, and keeps it. While this video is not going to stop everyone from texting and driving, it will effect everyone’s opinions on it and will stop some people.

 

2 Responses to “The most persuasive video I have ever seen”

  1. vixenchanted Says:

    When I first saw this video, it definitely had that shock factor effect. “Yes, it is very graphic, and very detailed but it is EXACTLY what happens when people decide to text and drive,” is exactly it. I think that is why this video is intended to be (and hopefully) is effective. I know when it first came out, a lot of my friends were almost horrified at the graphic content of it. I also agree with you when you say that it will not stop everyone from texting and driving. No ad, propaganda, etc. can be 100 percent effective, and that is okay. That goal is unrealistic as some people just don’t care. This is great example.


Leave a Reply

